Getting familiar with the iPhone 4 cameras.

The iPhone 3G camera app was so bad that I didn’t use the camera until I found 3rd party applications that had shake detection. I tried the following programs on my 3G:

  • Quick Shot
  • ProCamera
  • Gorillacam
  • Darkroom
  • Camera Plus (Updated for iOS4)
  • Camera Genius
  • Photogene (Updated for iOS4)
  • SmugShot  (Updated for iOS4)

On the iPhone 4 the default camera app is fast and includes movie capabilities. The only thing missing is the anti-shake feature but since the shutter speeds is fast, that feature might not be necessary. I love the fact that you can switch between the front and rear camera any time in either photo or movie mode.  I have used this feature to photograph a shy person. If they wont pose for me I have them stand next to me presumably to look at what is on the screen and I capture them with the front camera.

Taken with front camera

Of course the resolution will not be the same as the front camera is VGA resolution (640×480) and the rear camera is 5 Megapixel.

Taken with rear camera

These photos were taken with the Apple camera app.

1 comment so far

  1. Edison on

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say
    that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!


Leave a Reply

