iPhone 4

I received my new iPhone 4 yesterday and here is my experience.

First contact

I connected it to my PC and iTunes 9.2 recognized it right away. It went through the process of activating the phone and told me it would take a few minutes. In the mean time, I synchronize to get all my apps and music over to the phone. Everything went smoothly except that I had had no phone signal. Now my 3G was officially disconnected and my 4G was not finding the network. I was getting a little frantic since I don’t have a home phone so I couldn’t call anyone to find out what was wrong. Fortunately there is an Apple store 2 miles from my house. I walked in and went up to the first person I saw who just happened to be the store manager. I explained my problem and he reset my phone and everything was fine. Boy, did I feel stupid, I should have thought to try that myself.

OK, I love the phone, it is much faster than my 3G (400 MHz vs. 1 GHz).
I thought I would use it without a screen protector but it still shows fingerprints which bothers me a bit so I decided to use a screen protector I had left over from the 3G. It didn’t fit quite perfectly but I decided to use it anyway. Later on I was testing the forward facing camera and found it to be quite blurry then I realized that the matte screen protector I was using didn’t have a hole for the forward facing camera, duh!

Throughout the course of the day I made some phone calls and played with some apps. Everything worked as expected. When it was time to go to bed I had about 30% battery life left so I left the phone off the charger to see how long the battery would last me.

When I got up and tried the phone the battery was completely drained and I had to put it on the charger for a while before it would even turn on. When I was finally able to turn it on I checked to what background tasks where running and found that I had about 10 apps in the task bar. The one that I think actually killed the battery was my TomTom navigation app which is designed to stay on all the time.

This is the first issue that I am not really thrilled with. To force and app to exit you have to do the following:

  1. Press the Home button to minimize the app.
  2. Double click the Home button to bring up the task bar.
  3. Scroll through the list of apps if necessary to find the app you want to kill.
  4. Press and hold the icon until it starts to jiggle and the red minus sign shows.
  5. Press the minus sign.
  6. Press anywhere on the screen above the task bar or the Home button again to stop the jiggling.

And, as far as I know, there is no ‘kill all’ button or command.

Ergonomics

I thought I would really like the fact that the 4G is 25% thinner than the 3G but once I installed the bumper it is almost the same size. Also the rounded back of the previous models really does feel better in my hands. I find that holding the new phone for extended periods of time while playing games is not as comfortable as the 3G was.

Hardware Compatibility

I had no problem pairing with my Jawbone Bluetooth earpiece.
I have a couple of third party USB to 30 pin cables that I use for the car charger and the AC brick that I take when I am travelling. These cables worked fine until I installed the bumper. The third party plug will not fit all the way through the hole in the bumper which is an exact fit for the Apple plug. So now I either don’t use the bumper or buy new cables which are compatible with the bumper.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

